Unclear It is not stated where Claude Code shows or uses this pricing, so it is unclear which cost figures you see would change.
What
Model pricing can now include a separate price for long prompts, used once a request's prompt passes a set number of tokens.
- The baked-in model catalog reads a new
long_promptpricing field, keyed byabove_prompt_tokens, next to input, output, cache andweb_searchrates. The catalog version went from 1697 to 1760. - When input, cache-read and cache-creation tokens together exceed
abovePromptTokens, thelongPromptrates are used instead of the base rates. - Per-model usage records add a
longPromptpart holding the threshold and the costs worked out at that tier. - The pricing line shows "in/out per Mtok" (per million tokens) and, when a long-prompt tier exists, adds "for prompts over N".
Why
Cost figures for very long requests can now reflect the higher rate some models charge above a prompt size, and you can see where that threshold sits.
Something disagreesSomething we can check disagrees with this entry, or the writer said they could not settle it.
The writer flagged doubt
It is not stated where Claude Code shows or uses this pricing, so it is unclear which cost figures you see would change.