You'll noticeTier: how much it should matter to you
2Useful: my rating, 1 to 5
1Signal: worth watching, 1 to 5
PluginsArea: what it touches
ImprovementsKind: in v2.1.290,
ImprovementsSection of the release
Unclear How Claude Code decides that a name looks like Anthropic's is not stated.
What
A plugin marketplace is a source that lists plugins you can install with /plugin. Claude Code now refuses to install a marketplace whose name looks like one of Anthropic's own when it is not, and reports it as not found.
/plugin marketplace list shows such names in quotes, with the note: "Shown in quotes: the name looks like one of Anthropic's own, and is not."
Why
This is a check against impersonation. A marketplace cannot pass itself off as an official Anthropic one by choosing a similar name, and the quotes in the list make any such name easy to spot.
The entry above is what we published on the day. These lines were added later, as Anthropic's own pages caught up, and they sit beside the original rather than replacing it.
Confirmed sinceAnthropic's documentation has since written up /plugin, on Mods reference.Look up any event a [mod](/docs/en/plugins/mods/overview) can handle, mods API method it can call, or render site it can draw in, for the Claude Code CLI and the Desktop app as of v2.1.290. Each entry gives the name and a one-line descript…plugins/mods/referencesee the edit
Added sinceA small documentation edit on Plugin commands reference touched a line naming /plugin after this was published.> Reference for the claude plugin shell commands, /plugin and /reload-plugins in a session, and the flags that load a plugin for one session.plugins/cli-referencesee the edit
How sure we are
Something disagreesSomething we can check disagrees with this entry, or the writer said they could not settle it.
The writer flagged doubtHow Claude Code decides that a name looks like Anthropic's is not stated.
Anthropic's documentation agreesA small documentation edit on Plugin commands reference touched a line naming /plugin after this was published.
Anthropic's release notes agreeImproved the reply to /plugin in the desktop app's Code tab: it now says where to install and manage plugins there